All chapter members are welcome to join the volunteer board. Just attend the next board meeting. Email AWIS Bethesda ( to be added to the Board Evite list.


Maria T. Perez-Cardenas – President
Poorva Dharkar, Ph.D. – President-elect
Jennifer West, Ph.D. – Secretary
Therese Brendler, Ph.D.– Treasurer
Valerie Miller, Ph.D. – Past-president


Irina Tiper, Ph.D. – Member Services Committee Chair
Inka Sastalla, Ph.D. – Communications Committee Chair and Webmaster
Therese Brendler, Ph.D.– Elections Committee Chair
Teresa Ramirez, Ph.D. – Program Committee Co-chair
Brandi Carofino, Ph.D.– Program Committee Co-chair