2011 Mentoring Award

Congratulations to Drs. Susan A. Daniels and Sharon L. Milgram, winners of the 2011 Mentoring Award!

The Bethesda Chapter of the Association for Women in Science (AWIS) recently honored two members of the NIH community with its annual Award for Excellence in Mentoring.  Awards were presented to Dr. Susan A. Daniels and Dr. Sharon L. Milgram as being examples of men or women who have made significant contributions in mentoring to young scientists.

Sharon Milgram, a Senior Investigator at the National Heart, Lung, Blood Institute and an adjunct investigator at the National Human Genome Research Institute, joined AWIS while at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.  Her growing interest in student training and mentoring led her to apply for and accept a position as the first NIH Director of the Office of Intramural Training and Education (OITE). There Sharon directs a trans-NIH Office dedicated to the career advancement of over 5,000 trainees, ranging from college students to postdoctoral and clinical fellows.

Susan Daniels, a member of AWIS Bethesda, whose background is in molecular and cell biology moved into science administration and is currently the Acting Director of the Office of Autism Research Coordination at the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH). In her letter of nomination, Susan was described as a person who provides guidance and insight, who listens and is supportive and above all who cares about her mentee’s personal and professional development.

The NIH Office of Research on Women’s Health, the Office of Community Liaison, and the National Library of Medicine generously support AWIS-Bethesda.  www.awisbethesda.org

Dr. Susan A. Daniels (right), Award Chairman Pat Connelly (center) and Dr. Sharon L. Milgram (left) at the AWIS Bethesda Award for Excellence in Mentoring Ceremony.